Four Easy Questions to Practice Authenticity

Joseph Rios EdD
8 min readApr 13, 2020

In a world changing daily, how do you stay relevant in your work? Start by being authentic and vulnerable! Read more about how you can. First in a series.

Finding Relevancy Amid Changing Goals — Being Authentic

Before the current stay-at-home order started in March 2020, I began work on my second manuscript for a new book. I had an idea to focus on ways to help new professionals learn how to navigate office and institutional politics. It was important to focus on first-generation professionals to learn how to operate within systems that were novel and exclusionary.

Then our current reality happened. And all of my inspiration for thinking of the future was sapped.

I couldn’t find any relevance in talking about the way things used to. Especially in light of the fact that higher education is going to be impacted for years to come. Would the higher ed landscape even resemble what it looked like before this happened? In what way could I influence or share what I know in a world that moved in a different direction?

In the days before the stay home order, I used to leave my house to feel the energy working around others. It was a struggle to stay motivated when my couch called out to me to rest, relax and be still. At least when I left home, I could talk with others and feel the energy in a room. As an extrovert, this energy was important for me to…

--

--

Joseph Rios EdD

I believe leadership is the expression of values. Career Coach | Educator | Writer | Social Justice Advocate | Trainer. leadershipandvaluesinaction.com