10 Ways to Age-Proof Your Resume

Joseph Rios EdD
7 min readJul 8, 2022

Job-searching at any age is challenging. Learn strategies to age-proof your resume to keep you in the applicant pool longer!

Photo by TheStandingDesk on Unsplash

In the past, I have written about job-searching and its challenges. But I have avoided talking about one area within the topic that I have felt little control over: ageism. When I started my job search a couple of years ago, I was well into the protected age for people who experience ageism in job-searching and in employment. Sometimes the questions I was asked would sound coded as being over-qualified or that I wouldn’t fit in with younger co-workers.

Until now, I felt as though I had few ways to combat the experiences I had. But going into a new job search cycle, I feel energized and plan to incorporate these tips into my own job search strategies.

According to the US Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC), age discrimination can occur after someone turns 40 years old and federal law “prohibits discrimination in any aspect of employment, including hiring, firing, pay, job assignments, promotions, layoff, training, benefits, and any other term or condition of employment.”

I believe they will help anyone who is 40 (or fast approaching 40) or is looking to hire new staff. The tips can also help you become ageism-aware in your hiring approach.

--

--

Joseph Rios EdD

I believe leadership is the expression of values. Career Coach | Educator | Writer | Social Justice Advocate | Trainer. leadershipandvaluesinaction.com